The AMEE Research Paper Award recognizes outstanding research papers and excellence in education research at the AMEE annual conference. The award is made by the AMEE Research Committee at the annual AMEE conference. 

The Award

The winners of the Research Paper award are awarded an AMEE certificate at the annual conference. To take part, you should submit your paper as an abstract in the research paper category for an upcoming conference. During the conference each submitted paper is evaluated by the Research Committee and the best papers from each Research Paper session are acknowledged.   

AMEE 2021 Conference Winners

  • Dr Matthew Byrne, University of Oxford, Nuffield Department of Surgery, UK - Examining Medical Student Volunteering During COVID-19 As A Prosocial Behaviour
  • Dr Georgina Stephens, Monash University, Australia - Exploring Uncertainty Tolerance in Medical Students on Clinical Placements: A Longitudinal Qualitative Study
  • Professor John McLachlan, University of Central Lancashire, UK - A novel standard-setting method based on Facilities
  • Tracy Moniz, Mount Saint Vincent University, Canada - Dual but dueling purposes: The use of reflective writing to remediate professionalism
  • Dr. Nancy Dudek, University of Ottawa, Canada - The Ottawa Resident Observation Form for Nurses (O-RON): Assessment of Resident Performance through the Eyes of the Nurses
  • Mr Ricky Ellis, Nottingham University Hospitals, UK - The Impact of Disability on Performance in the MRCS: A high-stakes postgraduate Surgical Examination
  • Mr Jan Willem Grijpma, VUmc, the Netherlands -Engaged or disengaged? Using Video-Stimulated Recall to gain insight into medical student behavior during small-group learning activities
  • Karen Stegers-Jager, Erasmus MC - iMERR, the Netherlands - Unraveling ethnic disparities in rater-based assessments: effects of scoring form and of perceived similarity
  • Dr. Tristen Gilchrist, University of British Columbia, Canada - A collective case study of supervision and competence judgments on the inpatient internal medicine ward
  • Dr Marina Sawdon, University of Sunderland, UK -10% of your medical students will cause 90% of your problems: a prospective correlational study
  • Welcome from the new AMEE President

    Read the welcome message from the new AMEE President, Subha Ramani


    Press Release: AMEE Associate Fellow selected for The Pathologist Power List 2022

    AMEE Associate Fellow Dr. Fatma Alzahraa A. Elkhamisy has been selected as one of the most inspiring pathology educators worldwide in the “Power List 2022”


    Press Release: 2022 ASPIRE to Excellence Award Winners

    Announcing the winners of the 2022 ASPIRE to Excellence Awards, and the awards for Merit